The world’s best pasta recipe

I love pasta. I absolutely love it. I want to have pasta on good days and not so good days. And because I want to have pasta so frequently, I decided to ditch the cheaper and yummier Bluebird pasta for a more wholesome Essential Waitrose durum wheat pasta.

I’ve tried pasta from various brands and eventually settled for the Essential Waitrose one. I usually pick up their penne pasta (Rps 150/- for a 500 gm packet) and surprisingly it lasts longer than the Bluebird one. Maybe it has something to do with the core ingredients but I require a smaller portion of the Essential Waitrose pasta. Note: While this pasta does not ‘fluff up’ after boiling, I’ve noticed that the quantity of pasta increases after it has boiled.

Hypercity also stocks the wheat variants in fusilli and spaghetti but none of the other fancy shapes. This is how the packet looks (You can distinguish these pasta from the regular ones as these are more brown)

Essential Waitrose Penne

Essential Waitrose Penne

And while I have bookmarked a million yummy pasta recipes, I end up making the same recipe over and over again – Spaghetti aglio, olio e peperoncino.” Don’t let this complicated name confuse you. I promise this is the easiest recipe you will come across. This is a traditional Italian dish which literally translates to spaghetti with garlic, olive oil and chili peppers. Yes, that simple.

But being an Indian, I need some flavour in my pasta. Here’s are the ingredients that I use for this recipe.

– Olive oil

– Garlic (Lots of garlic!)

– Dried Mixed Herbs

– Oregano

– Paprika

– Spaghetti/Penne

-Salt

After you’re done boiling the pasta, take a pan and add olive oil to it. Add garlic, dried mixed herbs, oregano, paprika and salt and mix it. That’s all. Yes, that simple.

The best pasta in the world!

The best pasta in the world!

You can even serve this with garlic bread but I don’t want anything to interfere with the taste of the pasta so I just have mine straight out of the bowl! Yum!

Do you have a favourite pasta recipe?

Leave a Reply

