Let’s go grocery shopping

I’m pretty sure everyone knows by now that I love grocery shopping. Call me old fashioned but I would love to spend lazy afternoons in a supermarket. The closest supermarket to my house is Hypercity and while I find a lot of new products there that I don’t find near my house, it’s not economical for me to make constant trips to Hypercity.

The next best option is, of course, online shopping. I asked around on Twitter and found a few recommendations for online grocery stores. Before I list them out, I would like to inform you that I haven’t ordered from any of these websites personally though some obviously seem to have a better range of products than the others. These websites may also help you cut down on impulse buying which usually happens in supermarkets.

4861760-internetovy-obchod-nakupovani-ilustracni-foto

A major factor for picking one website over the other will be the minimum order amount. If I just want a box of muesli, I’m not going to add 5 other items just to reach the minimum amount threshold.

1. www.bigbasket.com

Free Shipping amount – Rs 1000/- (or Rs 25/- for shipping charges)

2. www.greencart.inย 

Free Shipping amount – Rs 75/- per day. (or Rs 30/- for shipping charges)

3. www.gourmetco.in

Free Shipping amount – Rs 750/- (or Rs 75/- for shipping charges). Their customer care tells me that cheese orders will have a Rs 100 charge due to the handling and packaging care required for cheese parcelsย  even if your total order is above Rs 750/-

4. www.ekstop.com

Minimum order amount – Rs 400/-

5. www.omart.in

Minimum order amount – Rs 500/- (or Rs 50/- for shipping. Shipping charges are waived off for orders above Rs 1000/-)

6. www.naturesbasket.co.in

Free Shipping Amount – Rs 1000/- (or Rs 70/- for shipping)

Update: Divya (@InsomniacGurl) shared two more websites

7. www.eemli.com

Free Shipping Amount – Rs 200/-

8. www.browntree.in

Minimum order amount – Rs 500/-

9. www.olivetreetrading.com/about-us

Minimum order valie – Rs 1500/-

I’m going to keep on updating this list as and when I stumble upon more websites. You can recommend the websites that you have used and help me build a bigger list for all the foodies! ๐Ÿ™‚

5 comments

    • Depends what am I looking for. I prefer online shopping for books, phones, etc. I prefer physically shopping for things such as clothes, shoes, food, etc.

      What about you?

      • I like to crash onto people- I mean that is a personal obsession, if you can call it that ๐Ÿ™‚ I can shop books online because it is difficult to do so offline, even in Delhi. But other than that, I like to wander around in those dusty,messy markets. Kind of gives me a better feel you know… Online marketing does not go well with those like me who long for human touch to things…

        But I can understand if people think otherwise ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

