And the Worst Muesli Award goes to…

Yesterday I made a feel-good trip to Hyercity. As weird as it sounds, grocery shopping makes me happy. I know I can buy the same things online on various websites but just walking around in the supermarket with a basket full of goodies makes me happy.

I won’t lie, I just went to Hypercity was because I wanted to pick up Baggry’s Strawberry Muesli but unfortunately it was out of stock 😦 I looked around for other options and naturally I drifted towards the Essential Waitrose section. Now, I’ve been using a few products from this brand very religiously (the pasta and olive oil, for example) and I’ve been waiting to buy new products from this brand and experiment. I was confused between picking their salad dressings/bread spreads or cornflakes/muesli. They package their products really and I have to gather all the will power I have so that I don’t end up spending my entire salary there.

Yesterday I decided to take a chance and try one of their muesli. Since I love berries, I decided to pick their Swiss Style Berry Muesli with nuts, cranberries, blueberries and blackcurrents. I could see a lot of berries in the packets and the berry lover in me was very happy with the purchase.

211061

I got a 750 gms packet for Rs 450 which is not cheap at all (I pick up the 1 kg Baggry’s muesli for Rs 360) and the muesli is available in 5-6 other variants (with different fruits and dry fruits combinations)

However, my happiness was rather short lived. I tried it at home and I was completely disappointed with the taste (rather, lack of any taste). Let’s start with the texture. Unlike the Baggry’s muesli, this one was more powdered. It felt like each grain was coated with some sort of flour. The good bit is that the berry ratio wasn’t negligible.

IMG_20130227_222152

Honestly, I didn’t like how it looked but I decided to try it anyway. I did and it was BLAND. No taste whatsoever. Seriously, nothing at all. I had to add a little strawberry crush to the muesli to get some flavour but it was barely edible.

I feel cheated here, actually. I’ve been recommending their products to everyone and then I stumble upon them. I’ll obviously continue using their pasta products but I’m quite wary to their their salad dressings now. I don’t want a tastless blob of dressing in my salad.

Now I’m stuck with expensive muesli that doesn’t have any taste at all. How can I make it edible? Any ideas?

One comment

  1. Thanks for the sensible critique. Me and my neighbor were just preparing to do some research on this. We got a grab a book from our local library but I think I learned more clear from this post.


Leave a Reply

