This Valentine’s Day get Bready!

Hello hello! I bring you some good news. I finally attended my first baking class over the weekend. Well, it’s not exactly my first baking class but the first of a three month weekend baking course that I have joined.

It started at 9 am on a Saturday morning (eeks!) and although I was tired and sleepy, I was elated when the instructor walked in and told us that we’d be baking bread for our first class. I was so happy. I love bread and this was the perfect way to start something that I’ve been wanting to do since a long time. The class went on for 8 hours and we made six different types of bread. I was so exhausted but so happy at the end of the day.

We started with dinner rolls where I tried experimented with different shapes. Some turned out to be quite nice and others, well, looked weird.

Dinner Rolls

Next came the loaf. This one was very easy to make and it tasted and felt just like store bought bread.

Bread Loaf

We followed that up with Herbed Clover Leaf bread. It is called a clover leaf bread because it resembles a clover leaf. The best thing is that you bake it in a muffin tin!

Herbed Bread

Herbed Clover Leaf Bread 2

A quick lunch break later, we made Ladi Pav (the Pav Bhaji bread). Again, very easy to make and so soft.

Ladi Pav

Ladi Pav 2

It was followed by Masala Bread. Full of flavour, this bread goes really well with masala chai. I’ve been having this for breakfast since 2 days.

Masala Bread

Masala Bread 2

The last bread for the day as a French Loaf. Unlike the other breads we had baked, this one had a hard crust and goes really well with hot, steaming soup.

IMG_20130202_174112

I apologize for the shoddy quality of the pictures. I wasn’t carrying my camera and I was just way too excited to click decent pictures anyway. I was showing these pictures to a friend and he just joked about how he will gift bread to his girlfriend on Valentine’s Day. I absolutely loved the idea. Imagine, getting a big heart shaped masala bread as a gift. It is quirky and not a conventional gift but I would love to receive something like that rather than cookies or flowers.

So here’s the deal. If you want to gift your partner some awesome bread this Valentine’s Day, write to me and I’ll bake fresh, yummy bread for you. Trust me, it’s a gift that your partner will remember forever.

One comment

  1. all the breads look so so yummy i have tried dinner rolls and bread loaf at home and if u are allowed to share the recipes of the other breads please do share and all the best to u for the class 🙂


Leave a Reply

